[RC5] dates in e-mail notifictation from clients

R. Kelley Cook kcook at ibm.net
Mon Mar 23 09:47:24 EST 1998


I have a question, why do the dates for the email use the first date in
the log was created for the date of the email?  It seems that according
to RFC-822 it should be using the date/time the message was created.  

This is especially frustrating for those of us that have multiple
computers running RC5 processes in the background and have them email
us the stats every 10000 log lines or so.  It really screws up the
sorting on my inbox, when I receive a message dated from three days
ago.

Short example: 
-------------
Subject: RC5-64 stats (Kelley:kcook at ibm.net)
From: RC5Notify at ibm.net
To: kcook at ibm.net
Date: Fri, 06 Mar 98 11:56:42 -0500



RC5DES Client v2.7010.393 started.  Using kcook at ibm.net as email
address.

[03/06/98 16:56:43 GMT] RC5 1*2^30 Block: 662AAC27:40000000 ready to
process
[03/06/98 16:56:43 GMT] 75 Blocks remain in file buff-in.rc5
[03/06/98 16:56:43 GMT] 1 Blocks are in file buff-out.rc5
Child thread # 1 has been started.
[03/06/98 16:56:43 GMT] RC5 1*2^30 Block: 66510441:10000000 ready to
process
[03/06/98 16:56:43 GMT] 74 Blocks remain in file buff-in.rc5
[03/06/98 16:56:43 GMT] 1 Blocks are in file buff-out.rc5

.... snip ....

[03/06/98 19:51:55 GMT] Shutdown message received - Block being saved.
[03/06/98 19:51:56 GMT] Saved block 66510440:90000000 ( 0.00 percent
complete)
[03/06/98 19:51:56 GMT] Saved block 66510440:E0000000 (72.68 percent
complete)
-------

To me the Date: header line should be around 19:51:56 GMT (or 14:51:56
-0500) since that is when this log was sent to my email address,
instead it gets the date of the first entry.

Is this by design, and if so why?

 -- Kelley Cook <kcook at ibm.net>
--
To unsubscribe, send 'unsubscribe rc5' to majordomo at lists.distributed.net
rc5-digest subscribers replace rc5 with rc5-digest



More information about the rc5 mailing list